Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-18-2021, 06:06 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2001
Coachwork: International
Engine: DT466
Looking for advice on how to deal with the rust

I recently got my bus back from the mechanic and everything is working great. My next goal is to get the floors fixed up. The rust doesn't seem to be too bad except for around the stairs and wheel wells. The whole bottom stair has rusted out and the bar that holds the doors in has fallen off. Looks like it was due to a bad welding job in the past. I have no experience with welding or metalwork and was looking at welders near me on craigslist. Does anyone else have experience with this? I don't really see any way I can fix that bottom stair by myself. As for the wheel wells I was thinking about repairing them myself by just putting some 20ga steel over the holes that I have leftover from covering windows. Though the holes do seem to be pretty big and I'm not sure if this is the best solution. I can stand on the wheel wells without them moving at all and I don't plan on putting anything super heavy over them. Everything underneath also doesn't appear to be rusting too badly. I'll include pictures of everything below. My plan for the rest of the floor is to use Ospho and paint with Rustoleum. Though I did just find the ultra rust converter on Amazon. It seems to be easier to spread and might be more effective. What would be best to treat the floors with?

Attached Thumbnails
20210418_163451.jpg   20210418_163523.jpg   20210418_163527.jpg   20210418_163532.jpg   20210418_163441.jpg  

Flynt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2021, 06:54 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Thomas 4 window w/lift
Chassis: G30~Chevy cutaway
Engine: 5.7/350 Chevy Vortec
Rated Cap: Just me and my "stuff"?
Anything can be fixed. The main obstacle for some is cost.