Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2019, 05:19 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2009
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: HDX
Engine: Cummins 8.3L Turbo Diesel
Rated Cap: 48
My Thomas Built HDX overheats above 55 mph

My new 2009 Thomas Built HDX Conversion with 8.3 Cummins RE has 285,000 km on the clock. It runs smoothly and quietly on flat road but arrived with 2 annoying problems. (And I am just learning about diesel engines so any assistance is greatly appreciated).

The first is that it overheats as soon as it exceeded 90kph or 55mpg. Before that, rock solid at 200F. Above that, a steady rise to 225F where the overheat alarm sounds. Thermostat, rad cap and coolant have been replaced as first effort to no avail.

Second issue is loss of speed when climbing hills. Downshiftng the Allison 5 speed manually helps maintain speed but on really steep grades of say, 7%, we can slow to a crawl. I want to tow a runabout car however I am fearful with both of these issues.

Any suggestions on where to look for remedies much appreciated.

SuperFreddie
In Buster the Cat House
2009 Thomas Built HDX SafTLiner
converted to French Country Cabin on wheels
8.3L Cummins inline 6

superFreddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 06:18 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Winnebago
Chassis: Ford F53
Engine: Ford Triton V-10
Rated Cap: currently 2
Any coolant loss? If so have you replaced any and with what type?
Sehnsucht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 06:52 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1999
Coachwork: American Cargo 14'L x 7'8"W x 7'H Box
Chassis: Ford E350 Cutaway
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 11500 lbs
Quote:
Originally Posted by superFreddie View Post