Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-02-2019, 11:50 PM   #1

Need advice: what parts to carry for T444E on Blue Bird 3800

I have a 1997 Blue Bird 3800 with a T444E 7.3L V8 engine with about 175k miles on it. We're in the process of converting it to a skoolie but for our planning purposes, if you have any experience with this engine, what parts would you recommend we have on hand so that we don't end up stranded on the side of the road?

Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_9159.jpg   IMG_8941.jpg   IMG_8942.jpg   IMG_8943.jpg  

danfutrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 01:18 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
roadside prevention

I am answering this question as a guy that drives old cars since I have been driving - 30 years of experience driving 20 year old or older cars trucks and soon bus.
hoses... all of them make them new, big ones, little ones... likely to spend more than a couple of hundred and more

engine thermostat

engine, heater coolant flush, then distilled water with antifreeze

belts again, all of them.

Fuel lines, any fuel that is flexible replace it.

hydraulic brakes, any flexible line in the system, replace it.- flush brake fluid yearly by the way.

Engine batteries new....My favorite are the "interstate" brand batteries but a lower cost way is to buy the ones that have been taken off the shelf due to age- one year. They strip the interstate name off the battery and sell at lower cost.