Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-29-2020, 11:09 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1988
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: S-1800
Engine: NAVSTAR DT 466
Rated Cap: 49
Need opinion on defrost

I’m a decent backyard mechanic. But have no idea how removing the passenger side heater/ defrost fans will effect visibility. I pulled them out., just put in a loop. Anyone have experience running just the drivers side defrost blowers? I’d rather have a storage box there, but let me know what y’all think. I’ll have it on the road soon and can experiment....
Thanks in advance.

YankeeDespot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 12:14 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 2002
Chassis: Freightliner FS-65
Engine: 7.2L Cat 3126 turbo diesel
Rated Cap: 71 passenger 30,000 gvwr
YMMV...
The way my Thomas is set up -- the defroster for the drivers side of the windshield pulls it's hot air from the drivers side heater core --
The passenger side windshield pulls it's heat from the heater core by the stairwell on the right side of the bus...
Two separate systems basically...

If that's the case in your case you could certainly tie the two ducts together...

The Murder Bus
banman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 08:08 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Hmmm. Mine was the same way. I just removed the entire unit on the steps- side. Wondering if a single unit will provide enough air. But that’s a good idea. I can route air from the remaining unit if needed. I just finished replacing brake lines, so can drive and see if I get enough hot air. Thanks for the reply!
Old 04-30-2020, 09:38 AM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap