Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-25-2013, 07:32 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

New bus owner - what can you tell me about my bus

Hello everyone, my name is Bob Spooner and I live in East Hampton CT. I just purchased a bus that was advertised on this site and craig$list. It's a 1994 Thomas MVP 28' flatnose diesel pusher. It was a bus used for shuttle transport to the airport in it's original configuration. The previous owner did a real nice job of gutting it and installing panelling and carpet. I think that we will remove most of the furniture and stuff and rebuild for us.

We are a family of 5. I'm an engineer and a bicycle frame builder. The bus will be used mostly to travel to and camp at bicycle races and festivals, etc. We also paddle a lot and spend some time on the beach with friends of ours. So, I guess mostly dry camping.

We are longtime VW Vanagon owners, so this new bus is like our Vanagon on Steriods. We are very excited!

I've been searching though this site, and find it very helpful. I also appreciate the good humor and lack of histronics. I'll do some more searching, but I do have a few specific questions.

Tell me about the roof of my bus. Is it a single or double layer? Any insultation in there? Can I put a short sheet metal screw through the ceiling without it poking out the roof?

What is the best way to put a rack deck up there? We have boats and bikes and stuff to carry...and a deck for heckling would be great too.

Does anyone carry bikes on the roof? We would routinely be carrying 10 - 14 bikes. I know on a car a few bikes will kill your mileage. Does anyone have a clue how much bikes on the roof would hurt the fuel mileage?