Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-13-2016, 11:22 AM   #1

Newbie looking into buying 1993 Bluebird Bus

Hello, I am totally new to the whole skoolie thing and am hoping to start a project of my own with a 1993 Bluebird bus I found for sale on a Facebook group in my area.
The lady selling it says it has a Diesel Caterpillar engine in it, which I won't know anymore about until her son gets back into town. It's a standard.
The inside already has insulation on the walls and hardwood laminate installed.
Here are all the pictures I have at the moment:
sarahbabushka's uploaded images - Imgur

I guess I'm just wondering what to look for and what kind of questions to ask, and if the caterpillar engine is better/as good as the standard (I think, not sure) Cummins engine?

Thanks!!

sarahbabushka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 03:05 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: IH
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 14
Well, first, it seems your images are publicly viewable.

The Cat engines are OK, but you'll find parts tend to be more expensive, and come only from Cat dealers. IH and Cummins engines tend to be much easier and less expensive to get parts for.
Brad_SwiftFur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 06:59 AM   #3

In case that link doesn't work (I moved them into an album) here is a better link:
Bus - Album on Imgur

Thanks for the info about the Cat engine parts, I wish I knew what make/model at the moment. When we go up to look at it I'll take pics of the engine, undercarriage, etc. We have a few Cat dealers near where I live so I'll have to ask around about them
Old 07-14-2016, 07:43 AM   #4
Bus Geek

Welcome
One issue I would check is the leading end of the metal siding they installed over windows.
Make sure it is sealed very good so water doesnt leak in, especially going down the road
bansil is offline   Reply With Quote