Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-15-2020, 08:26 PM   #1
Almost There

No weld roof raise

Hey all, been planning my roof raise awhile and its going to be winter soon so I need a plan

originally i was just going to copy wes from transcendence for like everything, but as I have no welding experience and don't want to start the other welding projects until later so now im hoping to postpone buying a welder but still pull it off as fool proof as possible. I don't want my roof held up by suspect welds when i can bolt and know for sure its tight.

for this end im thinking custom hat channel at the local shop, and scaffolding for the raise method like nat_ster did. what im stuck on is a method for a "channel slider", wes welded on some all thread but ive seen people just weld square tube inside the channel tightly and kind of tie it to the channel on the bottom half so it just slides up and keeps things straight.

Basically, can I pull off a "channel slider" by just bolting in some square tube as opposed to welding it in? I'm sure this depends on gauge as well..

I've heard about inserts that can help support the square tube from bending around the holes, wondering if i could even just cut some out of 2by4 just to jam them in the ends and give it a little peace of mind. Feel free to let me know how crazy I am

IC08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2020, 10:35 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: Supercoach
Engine: 6-71TA
Rated Cap: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by IC08 View Post
Hey all, been planning my roof raise awhile and its going to be winter soon so I need a plan