Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2009, 09:09 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1993
Coachwork: genesis
Chassis: international harvester
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 84
Re: Oil in the coolant?

good luck coolant in the oil is usually a blown head gasket, or some other place , cracked head or block, plus you need to get the coolant out of it before it destroys the engine.

dieselman69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 09:49 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1993
Coachwork: genesis
Chassis: international harvester

I'm not an expert but I looked in my I.H. DT466 service manual & lube oil in coolant or coolant in lube oil it says posiable causes , cracked cylinder head, block, or leaking cylinder head gasket, leaking injector sleeve, defective oil cooler, or intercooler, defective air compressor, I'm omitting the one other cause it lists because the cat 3208 does not have sleeves. hope this helps, hopefully just a leaking head gasket
dieselman69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 12:03 PM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 1991
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: 6.2 liter diesel
Rated Cap: 24

The mechanic didn't notice anything odd with the coolant? It just showed up on the analysis? Sounds like a small amount. Does the fluid analysis say just how much oil is in the coolant?

I would think a very small amount of oil could find it's way into the coolant innocently enough. I would definitely find out the source to be sure!

-Ray
Old 02-27-2009, 02:34 AM   #4
Skoolie

Year: 92
Coachwork: ward flat nose
Chassis: international
Engine: dt466 mt643 air ride