Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-11-2018, 12:40 PM   #1

Opinions on bus purchase

I’m looking to buy my first bus. I’m working with a dealer and I have questions before I take the plunge.

1. CAT engines: should these be avoided? I was told only cat dealers will work on them.

2. No maintenance record. Should this be a deal breaker?

The bus I’m looking at is an ‘01 Thomas International with a DT engine (original), 100,000 miles, very little rust and runs well. Tires look like they’re in good shape, no cracks or extended wear. Asking price $3000.

Thanks for any assistance. I’m trying my best to complete due diligence but I’m also new to this, so I’m sure there are questions I don’t know to ask.

EDIT: Thanks to Robin97396 for letting me know what else to add to my post!

Engine: I know it's a DT 6.5 L but I need to ask for more specifics on it.

Here is a link to all the photos I have:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...BY?usp=sharing

hannahmarievt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 01:00 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannahmarievt View Post
I’m looking to buy my first bus. I’m working with a dealer and I have questions before I take the plunge.

1. CAT engines: should these be avoided? I was told only cat dealers will work on them.

2. No maintenance record. Should this be a deal breaker?

The bus I’m looking at is an ‘01 Thomas International with a DT engine (original), 100,000 miles, very little rust and runs well. Tires look like they’re in good shape, no cracks or extended wear. Asking price $3000.

Thanks for any assistance. I’m trying my best to complete due diligence but I’m also new to this, so I’m sure there are questions I don’t know to ask.
Hello Hannah