Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-02-2016, 10:14 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1999
Coachwork: International
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 90 passenger
Exclamation Please Help! New to Diesel

Hi There! I'm new to this page but have done 3 conversions already. I'm looking for a large bus for my family of five. I know nothing about diesel engines or air brakes but am going to take the written for my CDL just so I feel more educated on the subject.
My questions are below. Does this bus look good for a conversion? I've been lucky enough to enjoy buses with NO RUST in the past, so rust is a new one. Also, does anyone have air brakes? Are they as scary as they sound?

I'm a gas engine mechanic but diesels are a foreign world to me. The guy said he would sell me this bus for 2,000$ because we are a non profit. What do you guys think? Will this bus hold up for a long time? Also, the tread on the front tires is uneven. On the right side of BOTH front tires the tread is almost gone, so I'm assuming there is some sort of issue there?

here is the ad: 1999 Thomas School Bus

Memphis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 10:25 AM   #2
Bus Geek

First welcome

The floor scares me from the pictures, you notice all the flaky rust on all the floor trim? make sure to crawl under the bus and check the floors and fender wells,

I have a feeling that floor is bad (I may be wrong just an observation)

It has a 12v Cummins, good strong motor and can be turned up some depending on the tranny

I would make sure to have a ballpean hammer to check rails with (rust/rot) it looks like there is rust on frame parts

ETA: air brakes are a very good thing, check the pad thickness (look at back of each wheel/brake you can see brakes (there are not backing plates on these)new is about 5/8 thick, use your finger to check drum wear