Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-04-2020, 04:42 PM   #1

Exclamation Potential first bus... rust experts help!

Hi everyone-- My name's Cassidy and I'm new to skoolie community... Have been doing a lot of research the last couple months while inside... I am a high school Spanish teacher hoping to do a rather simple short bus convert (reutilizing seats and keeping with a bus/classroom feel on inside) and embrace bus life fulltime this fall. After much searching, I think I may have found a bus, but I'd love your opinions first!

About bus: 1999 Chevy Thomas G3500 Express 20' Chassis 6.5L Duramax Diesel Engine Hydraulic Breaks 176,000 miles

I really like the size and features of this bus, while my main concern is fixing and controlling the rust so it doesn't create further damage. Can I stop the rust around screws/floor edges without ripping up floor? All thoughts and advice greatly appreciated. Some pics attached from when I went to see bus.

Attached Thumbnails
IMG_6516.jpg   IMG_6503.jpg   IMG_6487.jpg   IMG_6524.jpg   IMG_6521.jpg  

IMG_6494.jpg   IMG_6493.jpg   IMG_6496.jpg  

cassidy22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 05:31 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000
Engine: Cummins 5.9 24v
Rated Cap: 54 passenger
I'm not an expert. But my underside looked so much worse than that. It's been a pain and a lot of work but structurally it didn't eat through to the floor. I am going through a different experience than other rust masters here.

That said, this bus has damage. You won't know the extent until you tear it out, for sure.

Can you bend metal? Can you weld? Can you cut a rectangle out at that back door and replace it with new metal? It was something I hadn't done before and something I am starting to get the hang of now.

Do you want to learn these skills or buy something more fresh and clean?