Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-27-2008, 11:01 PM   #1

Year: 1994
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: IH 370
Powering off inverter while in motion

I have my "house" batteries -- three 12v AGM's -- connected in parallel to my two starter batteries with a cutoff switch. If I'm driving, and have the switch set to where the batteries are being charged by the alternator, is it bad to have the inverter on and using stuff... like some fans for circulating air? Is there any reason doing this would be bad for any of the equipment?

Hans

windsurf17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 11:35 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All American RE
Engine: Cummins 8.3
Rated Cap: 84
Re: Powering off inverter while in motion

I have no personal experience or expertise, and I am not sure this helps with your question, but I came across a "combiner" that is supposed to make it safe to charge flooded and AGM batteries together from an alternator. See it here:

http://www.yandina.com/mixedbattery.htm

I've not tried that product - just found it via google.

hth - Tony
dentarthurdent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 12:25 PM   #3

Hmm. I didn't realize there would be a difference for the alternator to charge the AGM's. I haven't tried it yet. Does anyone know if there will be a problem with your typical bus alternator charging the starter batteries and when the switch is closed, also the AGM deep cycles? I don't want to damage these $150 batteries.

Thanks,
Hans
Old 03-28-2008, 08:26 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03