Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-07-2020, 12:28 PM   #1

Wink Pretty Girl in Need of Help From Smart Skoolie Experts :')

Hey Skoolie people,

I've been reading these forums rabidly for months now, both before and after I bought my 2004 36' International T444E school bus. She's bright blue and beautiful. I'm an absolute amateur with all things related to the build process, but I've gotten by well so far reading the forums--- this is my first time asking a question. I've made lots of mistakes so far and would like to avoid them moving forward (I'm very low on money). My goal is to have the bus ready for a very minimalist month in the woods this fall so I can get away from it all. Then, in the winter and spring I'll keep working on the bus (hopefully with a bit more money and knowledge). I want to do the basics right this fall so that I can simply add to it later on without having to backtrack. I've currently had a finished floor for months (stripped it down, treated metal, then insulation foam board/plywood/vinyl flooring.) Recently I've been fighting leaks for weeks--- sealed roof seams, now in arduous process of pulling every window scraping caulk and resealing with butyl tape (God I hope it works!) This is all much harder since I basically do it all alone. Next I'm gonna paint the roof white, then work on insulation in the walls and ceiling (and figure out how to minimize heat loss through windows and window frames until I can afford window deletes in the future). I also have to figure out how to set up a minimalist solar power system (for now, I just want to be able to power my phone and lights and laptop charger for a month in the woods), and get a basic heater (Buddy?), and figure out insurance (I'm registered in Vermont but live in Mass--- If any of you live in Mass/RI, I'd love to meet up!), and make sure all the mechanics of the bus are solid. That should