Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-27-2006, 12:05 PM   #1

PULLING WITH YOUR BUS

hello everyone newbie here in fl. I have 2 1985 chevy c60 buses im going to make one a camper/hauler and the other one im going to do some school bus fig. 8 racing. both are full size 50 + pass. whats the most weight i can pull with one? what i was thinking of doing was cutting one down right in front of the rear wheels and put a 5th wheel over the rear end to pull a big trailer and the other bus. also i have a 3rd bus in GA. has anyone ever pulled a bus home with a tow bar? where could i find a tow bar to do the job? thanks for any info Tim

enduro74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 07:02 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International
Engine: 7.3 diesel
Rated Cap: 14
I see those guys from central america come to the minneapolis mn area every so often going down the free way with 4 to 6 buses at a time. They often will drive 3 or 4 and tow 1 or 2 behind them with a tow bar. And they hit a bunch of trift stores auto salvage yards garage sales and fill them up with whatever they can get cheaply and fit inside the buses.

I once saw a couple of these guys at a salvage yard having a little mini truck stapped down to the frame of another truck which was then put in to the back of a straigt truck with a loader. Those guys really know how to pack them.
wmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 07:22 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
I wouldn't worry about the tow bar getting the bus moving so much as getting the whole rig to stop. Brake buddies work, but they're not cheap. I really don't know any other way to do it unfortunately and you NEED brakes. Figure that out first....I think fabbing up the tow bar whill be much easier (hitch off a mobile home for instance).