Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-04-2018, 11:15 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Question on Model Safety : Conventional vs. RE vs. FE

Hi All!

I am a new member of the forum, and living in Austin TX. Been in the shadows for a year or so, as been trying to figure out which camper l wanted to purchase and move forward with. Van, pull along trailer, RV, Skoolie. For many reasons, the Skoolies have won my heart..so here l am..reading and absorbing as much as possible!

I have a question about safety of the various models. Are the dognose conventional buses inherently safer because the engine is in front, as opposed to the RE and FE models not having it in front? I am a careful driver, am 52, and have only been in one very minor fender bender since 18. I drive the speed limits, and plan on being ultra conservative in my Skoolie. However I have lost an immediate family member to a vehicle accident(not their fault), so safety may be on my mind more than others in my buying decision.

I am looking for a 30ish foot bus(suggestions welcomed!)..and thought l would put this question out for some input before l start my search in earnest for my bus. I will be living in it about 6 weeks out of the year, and many weekend trips.

I appreciate any thoughts you may have on this topic. Thank you..... Brian

Brian TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 11:33 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
Welcome Brian,

I think that most here will agree that any model school bus is going to be safer than any sticks and staples RV.

I feel very safe in my RE bus.

Some lean towards conventionals because they feel more comfortable with 6' of bus in front of them.

I'm sure we'll get some good discussion
PNW_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 11:43 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1997