Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-09-2021, 05:26 PM   #1

Year: 1997
Re-using rear heater

Initially we wanted to take out the rear heater, but got advice from family not to remove it. We were going to cut the hoses and loop them into each other. Is there a way to incorporate the rear heater into the build? It doesn't look safe in my opinion, but I'm a noob. Anything helps, we planned on a wood stove but now I have no idea, and have no clue how I'd even add the heater into the build.

Propane and diesel heating doesn't seem appealing, and neither does electric heating because of the power consumption.

**we used a crowbar and angle grinder to rip up the bolts holding it down.
Attached Thumbnails
6FE7F939-259E-4E57-A551-551F54FE9611.jpg  

swolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2021, 06:42 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: T444E 7.3L
I kept my rear heater and built the bed over it and added 3 vents around the bottom of the bed. It's really nice to have heat in the rear of the bus when driving in cold weather.
Johnny Mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2021, 07:16 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 2005
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: FS65
Engine: Mercedes 6.4L
Rated Cap: just the 2 of us
I removed the rear heater from my first bus. Big mistake, we made a trip to Mississippi in April and it was unseasonably cold...we really missed having heat.
On my current bus, I plan to move the rear heater forward of the rear wheels. I figure it may come in handy while driving. We won't need heat in the back of the bus unless we are parked, then we'll use shore pwr for heat.
BarnYardCamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2021, 08:53 PM   #4
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE 40 FEET
Engine: Cummins 8.3