Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-07-2021, 12:33 AM   #1

Removing the side pop out Stop sign and front pop out fence thingy

If I remove and unplug the side pop out stop sign and the front hinged fence thingy - will a secret cut off stop the bus running without them?
I am a total newbie . So far one seat removed ( angle grinder on four bolts + wrench on two bolts .
Another 25 seats to go !
Who buys bus seats? Do they have any value ?
Thanks for suggestions .

Roblat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 04:56 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: MVP ER
Engine: CAT 3126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roblat1 View Post
If I remove and unplug the side pop out stop sign and the front hinged fence thingy - will a secret cut off stop the bus running without them?
I am a total newbie . So far one seat removed ( angle grinder on four bolts + wrench on two bolts .
Another 25 seats to go !
Thanks for suggestions .
I've not heard of a stop sign or crossing arm causing a no start, but it would be nice and easy to test if you require the peace of mind. Simply unplug them, then attempt to start the bus and move it back and forth. If it moves, then you're good.

If you take the time to strip the foam and upholstery, a scrap yard will usually accept them. Many landfills will accept the seats as is, but they're certainly not buying them off of you. A busload of seats weighs around 1,000 pounds, give or take.
Truthseeker4449 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 08:41 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Truthseeker4449 View Post
I've not heard of a stop sign or crossing arm causing a no start, but it would be nice and easy to test if you require the peace of mind. Simply unplug them, then attempt to start the bus and move it back and forth. If it moves, then you're good.