Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-05-2019, 10:45 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1992
Coachwork: international
Chassis: Front engine
Engine: mechanical DT466
Rated Cap: 71+
River hell

Ok so I’m just getting started on the wall rivets. I have the air hammer with center punch to punch out the holes.
1. Almost none of the holes are punching out
2. When I am using the forked chisels(sharpened and unsharpened) they don’t come close to budging the rivets. My gun goes up to 90psi and it appears to be functioning properly.

What the hell do I do? Angle grind the 1000 rivets off? Any ideas

Thetireddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 10:48 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Thomas 4 window w/lift
Chassis: G30~Chevy cutaway
Engine: 5.7/350 Chevy Vortec
Rated Cap: Just me and my "stuff"?
Drill maybe?
peteg59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 11:00 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1935
Coachwork: Superior
Chassis: Chevy
Engine: 317 ci/tid / Isuzu
I had the same problem until I anted up for a BIG compressor capable of delivering 120 pounds of air at 10 CFM on an ongoing basis. Air chisels need a huge volume of air to really get the job done. To help with your immediate problem try grinding a "cross" into the head of the rivet using thin blade disc grinder before you go after it with the chisel.
Jack
ol trunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 11:20 AM   #4
Bus Nut

Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: Ford
Engine: 6.6 New Holland Diesel
Rated Cap: 60 kids, 10 window
Sometimes you got to grind the center punch down. Same size as rivet hole
Old 06-05-2019, 11:24 AM   #5
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Mistyped Title,
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 11:27 AM   #6
Bus Geek

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjakitty View Post