Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-29-2016, 08:03 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1996
Coachwork: International Thomas
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 71
School auction advice

Hello!
Im lurking around a couple of local school district auctions in the Houston area. I'm looking at the International Thomas buses and the International Bluebirds. As a veterinarian, I admit I know squat about buses with the exception of what I have learned researching this site. Does anyone have any advice about what to look for when going to a school bus auction?
Thanks!

HealthyPetsBus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 07:52 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by HealthyPetsBus View Post
Hello!
Im lurking around a couple of local school district auctions in the Houston area. I'm looking at the International Thomas buses and the International Bluebirds. As a veterinarian, I admit I know squat about buses with the exception of what I have learned researching this site. Does anyone have any advice about what to look for when going to a school bus auction?
Thanks!

Just from someone with a lifetime of mechanical experience, here are my general suggestions:
1. Find a heavy truck/diesel mechanic and ask them to give you a short lesson on buses/truck chassis, motors, etc and what to inspect for. Offer to pay them for their time if needed, the small cost to learn the basics will save you much headache.
2. They should teach you what to inspect/look at on the bus/truck: tires and condition/date code, body condition/rust, chassis condition/rust, air bags/shock condition, fluid check (oil, steering, etc) and quick check of how it looks when you inspect it using the dip stick or whatever other means is available. Look for signs of leaks and fluid build up on the engine and components and under the bus.