Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-12-2016, 08:30 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: international
Engine: t444e
Rated Cap: short
Short bus as a hotshot

Hi i am new to the skoolie movement and have some questions. My first thought was to get a bus as a cheap place to live so i started looking for a bus with a manual tranny. I would like a mid size bus like a 9 window but all i have found are short buses with the 5 speed. I have driven otr but since let my cdl go because I didn't like being out on the road for a month or longer at such a fast pace. Running hot shot where i could stop and smell the roses at my own pace would be nice. Most hot shots run a dullie and a goose neck trailer so an international short bus should have the towing capacity. Just looking for options before I buy either way I am going to get a bus to convert.

syntaxterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 08:38 AM   #2
Almost There

Welcome, fantastic name by the by. As far as getting the right bus, it might just take a bit. My wife and I watched out for about nine months before we found the right one at the right price. We made it 150 miles within four hours of posting to buy it and a guy had already been to see the thing so don't hesitate if you like something.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
BuSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 03:16 PM   #3
Skoolie

check the third party bus sale thread - i saw a shorty 5 speed in NY state at a dealership.

I'll be buying in the spring I think and want a shorty for learning/conversion to a business (cargo mostly) vehicle with some style. I don't see a lot of them and they seem to cost a bit more.

Looking into the possibility of shorting a full size bus, since I'd prefer a transit and shot ones of those are very rare.
prof.fate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 03:24 PM   #4
Skoolie