Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-09-2015, 11:56 PM   #1

Question Should I bother?

Hello, I'm a student and hopefully will be moving next year for a semi-permanent (few years) stay at a university. Currently I'm in a FEMA travel trailer we managed to find on craigslist for about $5k. ~32' long, basic hitch set up, with queen sized bed, double bunks, full size fridge, dinette, microwave, sink, water heater, AC, propane run stove and furnace, whole nine yards. Except it wasn't built to have replaceable parts. The converter can't be replaced and we've already had an issue with wiring in it so there's no telling how long it, not to mention the furnace (dang mice), will last. And I still don't seem to have enough space.

I have a separate shed I keep quite a few animals in, lizards and birds etc. Thing is chances of me moving to a place I can keep a shed is slim to none. So I need to try and squeeze things into a mobile area (most apartments/leases are big nonos for animals). Well with the current travel trailer I fit some of my animals, but I'm still missing a fairly large area for a lizard and room for some bird cages. I could perhaps do this if I were to take out the dinette, alter the top bunk bed, or closet... But honestly at the rate I'm going if I ever want to sell it I would be SOL (I've already somehow managed to break the awning and remove the couch entirely).