Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-06-2009, 06:24 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1994
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 54
Should this rust be scaring me?

Great forum, my first post, been reading a lot and shopping buses now for a few weeks, springs coming and I'm getting twitchy to get started!

I'm a WY general contractor and commercial contract superintendent but it's pretty slow these days so I'm going to build a live aboard, put my white water raft on top and Jeep in tow and carry enough tools to make expenses for an extended working road trip vacation! WARNING TO ALL THOSE THAT HAVE CRASHED AT MY PLACE WHILE HUNTING AND FISHING FOR WEEKS AT A TIME, IT"S PAYBACK TIME

I've pretty much settled on a a 66 passenger conventional with corn-binder running gear (I can work on IH equipment). Finding a good bus in the mountain west has been hit and miss and most buses seem to find their way to the mid-west.

So mid-west I look, but oh the hell everything seems to be so rusty!

Should this rust be scaring me, I've got a sandblaster and spray unit and not afraid to use it, but I plan on making my bus pretty damm comfy and don't want to spend a lot of time on a poor platform. There doesn't seem to be any rust on the external body work and the front step's look good as well.

Thank's
Attached Thumbnails
Picture 017.jpg   Picture 012.jpg   Picture 010.jpg  

Old 02-06-2009, 10:13 PM   #2
Almost There

Year: 92
Chassis: TC2000
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Re: Should this rust be scaring me?

maybe at the brake lines, but the frame and suspension components are nothing, just treat it now so it doesn't get any worse, and brake lines are an easy replacement
bbbrt76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 07:47 AM   #3
Skoolie

Thanks for the reply