Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-26-2021, 10:58 PM   #1

skoolie vs 6x4 box truck

After a recent week camping at Toquerville Falls in southern Utah, I really want to be able to live and travel in a rig that can go off road... at least handle some 18" boulders/drop offs, and rough dirt roads. I'm not expecting to go "Jeeping" but I also want more than what a road bound bus was designed for.

I've read about bus conversions to 4x4. I'm a computer nerd and designer, so I can design the rig and diy a bus build, but don't want to get into welding a whole box living quarters from scratch.

A box truck, say 24'-30' long with a diesel engine seems like a great starting point. Then I found some of them that have 6x4 drive train. Seems like this might be an interesting foundation for an expedition vehicle that is larger than an ambulance, larger than most $300k (ridiculously priced) expedition vehicles, yet have a "close to 4x4" traction. I don't expect it will plow through mud, but would like it to get me to waterfalls on a pretty rough dirt road.

But I would love to get any "gear heads" to chime in and tell me what an idiot I am for even thinking this is viable and confirm or argue with my thoughts as to how close to a 4x4 this rig would actually come.

Or what would you do if you wanted as close to a 4x4 as you could get with a 24' rig and reasonable budget. What's reasonable? Ok, let's say a budget that offers really good value.

I'm listening...

Thanks!

Blade3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2021, 08:17 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1976
Coachwork: bluebird
Chassis: F33695
Engine: 427 chevy converted to 466
Rated Cap: 84
The electric power grid industry as well as tree services use large 4X4 trucks to go offloading to do their work, you could find an older one and either use the undercarriage on a bus or box truck or swap frames to utilize the 4x4 option.