Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-11-2010, 09:27 PM   #1
Skoolie

so slow s1800 9 liter

does any one have this experience with their 9 liter. its an b5 thomas body 32 footer witha nine liter ihc and an AT545. i used to have a 5.57 rear end and it was dead slow so i put in a 4.44 and it still cant do over 50 on flat ground 2800 rpm ( max safe rpm ive been told by many bus mechanics). its an absolute old dog on ANY hill. only has 185K on the engine and has been well cared for. whos got a nine liter and what do yall think. it took me a week to drive 2000 miles at an average highway speed of 45 mph. at 7.5 mpg.....??????????????????
thanks
adam

adamanderr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 09:32 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All-American R/E
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Re: so slow s1800 9 liter

I have a lot of experience with them....5 spds though. I dont know what the axle ratios were but I do know I had to bend the needle in the tachograph to keep the boss lady off my heels. 65 wasnt an issue. Great engine in my experience.
opus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 10:09 AM   #3
Skoolie

well its an 85 with 185k on it. 9.o na with an AT545. 32 footer so i assume that the 3/4 size. when i bought it it would only go 45 max..took off governor no change..
.so i figured if i switched the rear end ratio id be able to get a higher top speed on the flats knowing that itd be slow on hills but mostly i cruise cross country on interstates. the original rear ratio was 5.57 and it had split wheels. well my junkyard buddy hooked me up with a deal......a complete axle assembly.with only 20k miles on it...leaf springs air pots new budd wheels brand new rubber on all four wheeels all for 1500.