Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-19-2020, 10:50 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 1986
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: Supercoach
Engine: Cummins 350 big cam
Rated Cap: 86 passengers?
The Conversion of my 86 Crown Supercoach

Introduction:
This is the documenting of the Conversion of my Crown Tandem Axle School Bus to a Motor Home.

About me:
I am a retired Software Engineer with a thirty one year career in the aerospace industry. I also have experience in hardware and software test. Before that I served eight years in the U.S. Air force, working on Electronic Countermeasures. This is my second bus conversion.

About the bus:
It is a 1986 Crown, 39 feet in length, tandem axles, originally equipped with a Cummins Big Cam I 300 engine, an Alison HT740 automatic transmission, Rockwell differentials with a 4.10 gear ratio, and rear air ride suspension. It was last in service in King City, Ca.

flattracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 11:10 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: CS RE
Engine: ISC 8.3 L 260 hp
Rated Cap: 36
Welcome! Sounds like a nice bus. I love the classic look of Crowns. Looking forward to your build.

Ted
TJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2020, 01:35 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
Oh goody ... a crown conversion build thread I can read daily ... from the ground up.
Welcome to the site.
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 01:09 AM   #4
Bus Nut

I have been approaching my conversion project with an engineering point of view, so some of what I document will be somewhat detailed.