Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-01-2021, 03:01 PM   #1

Timid of the international

Hey everyone! Newbie here trying to get my hands on a bus. As a current scion FRS driver, I'm sure you can imagine my fear of the international bus even if its a "shorty". Can anyone calm my nerves and tell me that it's not as scary as it looks? How about gas mileage? I'm sure its not great

Rachel_89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2021, 04:05 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2004
Coachwork: IC
Chassis: CE200
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 27,500
Nothing wrong with being nervous the first time you drive a much larger vehicle than you're used to. I'd be concerned if you weren't nervous. Nervous can prevent you from doing something . . . BAD.

Arrange it so that the first time you drive it, whatever you buy, it's in a safe, low stress situation. If it has to be driven any distance on purchase see if you can get a friend with experience drive it for you. Or, as in my case, I arranged with the bus company I bought it from to have one of their drivers deliver it to me to get around the insurance problem.

Fuel mileage is very dependent on what you buy but it's pretty safe to say it won't be good even for a shorty.
Oldyeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2021, 05:01 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
aint no sports car.

You know those yellow speed signs on curves, on ramps and off ramps? Yea, you are going to have to pay attention to those more. Braking distance is much further. Skip the sudden lane change.

Yea you can drive it. It is like riding a bicycle for the first time. Start slow and learn.

Welcome to busses.

william
magnakansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2021, 10:58 PM   #4
Bus Crazy

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC2000, 40' MPV