Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-22-2014, 10:42 AM   #1

Coachwork: Not Yet
Chassis: Not Yet
Engine: Coming Soon
Rated Cap: 28
To be a graduate student

Hello, my name is Marie, and I am an undergraduate in Cleveland studying physics and electrical engineering.
I intend to go to graduate school in high-energy nuclear physics, but I do not want to live in graduate student housing.
I want to live in a bus.

My parents are very against this, so much of the work will take place during next summer (after I graduate), and during the first year or so of graduate school. Hopefully the bus can become livable in the three months of summer in between graduation and graduate school.
This year and a half will be full of traveling for research, studying for the physics GRE, and planning the bus.
This is the time I will develop the CADs/drawings, understandings of the plumbing and electrical systems, and the know-hows of bus building.

The rough outline is as follows:

Part A: Preparations.
1. Plans and schematics. Enumeration of ideas and resultant decisions.
2. Learning the art of choosing a bus wisely.
3. Acquisition of a space to build the bus.
4. Hone my bus-driving skills. I've only ever driven a UHaul truck across the country.
5. Name a mechanic that will aid me in bus choice and bus issues here in Cleveland and near graduate school of choice.

Part B: Bus Acquisition.
1. Buy the bus. Target: $3000.
2. Change its classification to "RV" and get it ensured.
3. Acquire a "resident parking permit" at the university. If declined, acquire a "commuter parking permit" and move daily.

**Moving to the University will take place somewhere within Part B or C.

Part C:
1. Remove seats and "crap." (Crap == unforeseen obstacles on the bus)
0. Build an anchor structure for a kayak or a few on top of the bus.