Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2016, 07:08 AM   #1

Tow vehicle?

Hello all. I'm new to all this. I have a question. Am looking to double down possibly. I'm interested in school bus conversions but also in Tiny houses on wheels. My big question is, Would a school bus be a good tow vehicle for something like this. I know there are probably many factors to consider as far as weight of what I'm towing etc. Just wondering if anyone knows of anybody doing something similar?

Davecop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 10:43 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Personally, I've never heard of that. So basically you're looking for a rolling duplex?

People are towing vehicles and even box trailers. I wouldn't be afraid to move a small house using a bus for short distances, however I'd have concerns about overheating the transmission in an extended use situation on the road. A lot of that caution is based on not knowing what type of transmission you have. These vehicles are so heavy already that I think a small towable home would be to heavy.

You're not actually talking about traveling with a small towable home are you? Those things aren't normally very aerodynamic.
Robin97396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 05:33 PM   #3

Not for travel.

No not for travel just to move it with when needed. The bus would be used alone for travel but I want to have a semi permanent home. Since it would be on a trailer I could avoid higher property taxes and get around zoning restrictions here and there. I figured I'd have to install a transmission cooler anyway. Was just wondering if those big diesel engines would have enough power to pull the house along with the weight of the bus as well. Haven't actually gotten the bus yet or the tiny house , still in the planning stages.
Davecop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 06:32 PM   #4