Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-18-2009, 10:57 PM   #1
Bus Nut

tractor trailer/cargo carrier conversion?

I've been kicking an idea around in my head for a few months now, and thought I'd finally ask for some opinions here. Now I know, I know... asking for an opinion here is a risky proposition... since nobody here wants to share their opinions. lol

Anyway, crazy crazy idea time....

Has anyone thought about taking a 16' to 18' cargo carrier/tractor trailer trailer unit and converting it to be pintle hitch instead of 5th wheel and using it as the portable garage for carrying your vehicle/bike/tools/garden hoses/whatever? Technically, I think I could go up to a 20' length, and with a tongue length, not exceed the 65' limit.

I figure with a bus that is already configured with air brakes, adapting the bus to feed air to the trailer wouldn't be that involved. The same connectors that tractor trailers use would be just right for that purpose of course.

Also, these units tend to be extremely durable. No need to worry about your car getting tar from the road on it.

I imagine the conversion from a 5th wheel assembly to a pintle hitch assembly would be non-trivial. Removal of the 5th wheel ought not be that difficult, but adding a tongue without compromising the frame might be quite difficult.

I realize that this would likely reduce the cargo capacity of said trailer. However, if it were a unit with 2 positionable axles, you could do a good job of balancing the loads.

For someone with a front engine bus, it would probably be easier to just shorten the body of the bus and put a 5th wheel hitch back there. However, I have a rear engine bus, and I just don't think that'd work out.