Old 09-17-2020, 08:56 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2006
Welding Advice?

I have a lot of rust on my bus, and some big dreams. It seems like I will need to weld on some patches on cross beams at the very least and I have ideas to weld storage boxes and patch holes in leaky doors. So I wonder if it is better to hire a welder to work with me on this project, or to invest in a welding machine and do it myself. I have lots of time and elbow grease so I would rather spend that than money. I am a very handy person but I have no experience welding. How difficult would it be to get my welding skills to a place where it would be safe to do my own welding on my bus? Anyone have any experience learning to weld for their bus build?
livinginlimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 09:04 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1999
Chassis: Amtran / International
Engine: DT466E-Md3060
[QUOTE=livinginlimbo;406132 So I wonder if it is better to hire a welder to work with me on this project, or to invest in a welding machine and do it myself. I have lots of time and elbow grease so I would rather spend that than money.[/QUOTE]

If you got real deep pockets then go ahead and hire a welder!
If your like me, by a harbor freight welder, I use the 240v 170amp Mig welder that I got off the clearance shelf for $75 bucks.
For the entire project so far I have only used it with rosin core wire, no shielding gas.
Welds come out a little dirty, some I have to grind down but no one is even gonna see them but me!

Watch some you tube videos to get the general idea of what you need to do then practice with some scrap.

If you know a welder, ask him if they are willing to give you some pointers.

It is not rocket science, it is not hard to learn!
Just make sure you learn the safety aspects first so you don't get hurt and oh yeah, I always disconnect the batteries and pull the ECM fuse whenever I weld on the bus....
ewo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 09:58 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie