Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-29-2010, 05:22 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: 466DT
Rated Cap: 65
Re: Welding Advice

I have an older Millermatic 200 which is a great welder, but not so much for a bus project, because of it's size. However, work has a Hobart 140, which has been around for years, and has been a very nice little 110v. welder. A coulpe of friends have the 140 and have been just as happy with them. If you plan on keeping it after the bus, and for heavier use, lincoln makes some nice little 220v.(if you have 220v. available) welders in the 175amp range (check ebay). I just saw an ad the other day for some eastwood welders, which I have no experience with, but to me look alot like the little lincolns, and come with a 3yr warranty. Again, I know nothing about them, but would maybe consider it for the price. http://www.eastwood.com/metal-fabrication/welding.html Like Smitty said, keep your extension cord short, or at least a very heavy gauge wire.

Hvbuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 03:37 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1983
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Carpenter
Engine: 8.3

Welding advice;

I have found in my many years of welding to work side to side, if you will wave the weld between the pieces of metal and move slow. I find a bead of 3/8 inch is more than sufficient for a heavy weld and you can lighten up on the width you wave when your dealing with a joint that is not stressed as heavy you can just tack weld where you only weld small beads every 3 or so inches depending on how much strength is needed.

Cleaning the metal surfaces is a big deal as well I have found, be sure the metal is clean and well buffed where weld is to be placed and it makes the process much easier and there is less a mess and a much stronger weld.