Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-08-2009, 05:33 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1988
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: 8.2L Detroit N/A, Allison
Rated Cap: 65
Wheelbase (relatively speaking) of conventional buses

I'm new to the world of skoolies, and I'm having more fun than should be allowed reading all information and discussion. One thing I haven't been able to find, or maybe I haven't looked hard enough, is the wheelbase of various sized conventional style buses. If you've not seen my other post, I'm hoping to find a conventional style bus that I can chop the back end off and use to haul a gooseneck horse trailer. I want to get as much space in the inside of the bus as I can because we have 5 children to transport in addition to the horses and/or hay. We regularly traverse the state of Kansas too. I just didn't know if there was a significant difference in the wheelbase of a 65/66 passenger bus versus that of a 77 passenger bus. I'd like to hold out for a 77 passenger, but only if there's enough difference, otherwise I can look at 65 passenger ones.

In my rookie estimation, it would seem that by chopping the rear off, I'd get about 15' of floor space for a 65 passenger bus. I'm guessing at that one based off the flat nosed one that sits outside the junior high a block away...where I happen to work. Would I get as much as 3-4' feet for usable space with a 77 passenger, or would it be only about 1-2 feet? I have to stay away from the flat nose buses since my woman has already called shotgun...and the advise I'd already received (thanks).

Someone posted a picture of a flat-nose jobby of what I want to do a few years ago...now that I know it's been done, I want to do it more than ever!

Thanks,
Ben.

NewSkewlHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 05:57 AM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 92
Coachwork: ward flat nose
Chassis: international