Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-26-2020, 11:33 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2006
Coachwork: El Dorado Aerotech
Chassis: Ford E-450
Engine: 6.0 L Powerstroke
Wheelchair Restraint Removal Issue

Hello everyone!

I am new to the conversion community and of course already running into problems (with my bus not the community), so I'm posting here to jump right into it. I'll give the full intro in a separate thread, but for now, I'm here to to discuss the flooring in my E450 shuttle bus, which was outfitted by El Dorado, specifically an ADA Aerobus 14 passenger.

I have been doing lot of research, reading as many threads and watching as many videos as I have time for. I decided to go with a full rebuild of the floor so I could put insulation in. I have begun taking out the seats and the linoleum, but have run into a problem with the "Q straints", which are the metal rails bolted in to the flooring for the wheelchair seatbelts. My model seems to have a ton of these and today after applying WD40 and taking the impact driver to them, I realized they are bolted all the way through the metal frame. The Q straints go all the way down the bus and I cannot access the bottom bolts on many of them even if I go under the bus, because they are above the fuel tank etc..

I have seen videos where folks use a recip saw to cut the bolts, but in my case I fear the bottom bolts would fall onto the fuel tank etc. and I wouldn't be able to get them out. I don't want my bus to be randomly spilling out bolts from time to time.

Originally i was planning to take out the subfloor plywood and install R max sheeting and perhaps some rock wool before relaying the subfloor and doing a cork/luxury vinyl top.

Now I am considering two different options but would like to hear if anyone has other ideas about what to do.