Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-13-2022, 02:58 PM   #1

2003 Ford E450 Collins style... should I buy??

Hi Skoolie Nation!
I am new to bus life but have been researching and soaking up as much information as I can over this past year. I have been in search for a 5-6 window short bus with a handicap door in the rear and and emergency exit door in the back. I wanted a diesel engine because I knew I wanted the horsepower of it and it's better with mpg and I knew I would be traveling cross country multiple times.
I have the opportunity to buy a 2003 Ford E450 Collins style in MN with about 190K miles. I know the mileage is high and it does have a couple maintanence issues (oil sensor issues, not insulated, rust on stairs and in rear of vehicle, and based on pictures probably needs new tires). I was able to get him down to 10K vice his 14K asking price, but ultimately I come to Skoolie Nation to ask "Is this worth it"???
Please all advice and helpful opinions are welcomed
Attached Thumbnails
290944615_5081866801908480_6858377720254395056_n.jpg   291596733_5210958825657832_2339435617976649342_n.jpg   292340777_8056107634407080_7302422643096687419_n.jpg  

Worldtraveler99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2022, 08:18 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Coachwork: El Dorado Fiberglass
Chassis: Ford E450
Engine: V10 Gas
Needs more Cowbell

There's not enough information in your description to give a good answer, IMO. But I won't let that stop me. :-')

Think of the bus's 'value' as two parts: first, the rig (chassis and mechanical) and then the conversion. If they are considered separately you may have a better chance coming up with your own assessment of the value.