Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-06-2021, 07:57 PM   #1

Looking for a bus in Northern California

hello everyone!

i am very new to the skoolie world and i am looking for my first bus to convert. i have been searching on craigslist, facebook marketplace, ebay, auctions, etc and i am having trouble finding what i am looking for.

here is what i'm looking for:

Anything newer than 1990
30ft give or take a foot
DT466 or Cummins 8.3
Less than 200k miles (lower the better of course)
MT643 or Allison 2000/2500/3000 transmission
Little to no rust
Tires in good condition
Located in Northern California
Less than $5500

my boyfriend and i would like to flat tow a car behind the bus so it must be powerful enough to do that.

thank you so much!!

averyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 08:20 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1999
Coachwork: MidBus
Chassis: Chevy Express 3500
Engine: 6.5L Turbo Diesel
Rated Cap: 19
Warning: California is very much in hate with older diesels, and it may be a total pain to register one (IF they even let you take the exception for RVs). There were threads earlier about such things.

Have you branched out past local (like even into Oregon or Washington or Nevada)? That may increase your selection a fair amount.
Beirdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 08:22 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1974
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: "Atomic"
Engine: DD 8V71
I can't help with a candidate, but kudos to you for doing your homework! You picked some good engine and transmission options. It pains me to see people post, "hey we just bought this bus" but they've got some questionable components. I think you'll do well if you find what you want. The hard part, actually, may be the price. Shorter buses have risen in asking price lately.

Do you have a preference of front or rear engine? Flat front or dog nose?