Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-25-2018, 03:21 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Smile Need advice on this bus please!!! :)

Hello skoolie.net community! Thank you all so much for all of your helpful posts...I've learned so much over the last several months, but I am far from an expert! Your help would be much appreciated!

I am a freelance drone photographer who is looking to join the awesome skoolie community! My plan is to travel/work/live in a bus with my boyfriend. My current living situation has changed and I basically need to find a bus ASAP. I wasn't planning on buying a bus quite yet, so my budget isn't huge. I've been looking for a bus that already has electrical and plumbing, but I'm definitely willing to put in loads of work if the bus needs a facelift.

I found this bus on Craigslist (in Orlando, FL) and it might be the one for me! The pictures are a little rough -- the bus is dirty and very cluttered, but hey, anything can be cleaned, right?! This thing definitely needs a good pressure wash haha

Here's the Craigslist link: https://orlando.craigslist.org/rvs/d...568172249.html

Here's all of the info I have on it so far:

1988 Ward
7.3 International Diesel
Allison Transmission (automatic) -- waiting for the specific make
175,000 miles

on shore power
20 gallon hot water tank
holding tank
no rust issues (surprising for FL?)
tires in great condition
insulated (he mentioned something about limousine padding??)

I would be SO appreciative of any thoughts on this bus. It's 30 years old which worries me a little bit, and I don't know a whole lot about Ward buses. Are they dependable? The bigger engine seems like it's capable of climbing some mountains (which I will need), and it already has a shower/toilet/kitchen, which is great for me because we would be living in it pretty soon.

Your wisdom and thoughts are much appreciated

--Meredith