Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-09-2012, 06:42 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

The Bus I Wish I Had The Balls To Go Ahead And Get

The title says it all, lol. I hope no one here swoops it up. But since I am new to busses and diesel in general; if anyone talks to the guy and has an opinion on if its a good deal or a rip off feel free to help a gal out and kick me some knowledge
http://modesto.craigslist.org/rvs/2827056507.html

DarkLotus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 11:12 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 47
Re: The Bus I Wish I Had The Balls To Go Ahead And Get

How long would you have to live in it before it paid for itself? Do you have anywhere to park it for cheap or free?
Motobus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:25 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Being this old, the bus may need lots of money for maintance. Generator if runs is certainly worth something.
Old 02-11-2012, 08:29 AM   #4
Skoolie

A 3 speed auto? That will be a pig on an incline and top out at 50MPH! And get terrible mileage. It is a cool looking bus though.
100MPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 09:18 AM   #5
Bus Crazy

some 3 speed auto trans will do just fine... for example in my last coach, i had a vs2-8 which is the precursor to the 730, and my detroit powered thing would run 72 mph all day long... its the gear ratio of the rear axle and tire circumfrence that dictates speed (engine running at 2200 rpm) if i would have changed out a cat 3208 in there which runs up to 2850 i would get about 20% more speed which would be like 85 or so, and even more if i put on 24.5 tires -- would probably go 90.
Old 02-11-2012, 03:12 PM   #6
Mini-Skoolie

Hey yall thanks for the replies to get me thinking!