Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-20-2017, 10:24 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Another CDL Question. Have Tried Searching

I know I know... Another CDL question

I am a resident in SC. I am looking to buy a bus in TN that has a GVW of 14,500. Its seating capacity is 24 passengers. It is not a full bus but slightly larger than a short bus. The body style is a Thomas Minitour.

I have called almost every DMV here in my home state of South Carolina. They have all told me that as long as a vehicle is less than 26,000 GVW I am good to go. However, I called the cdl office here in SC and they said that because the title declares it a bus and it can hold 24 passengers I do need a cdl.

I have to transport the bus from TN to SC. My plan was to remove the stop sign, have the owner write motorhome shell on the title, and cover the markings from the school that I am buying it from. I explained to the CDL office that It will be only me driving the bus home and it is going to be converted to a private recreational vehicle. They still wont budge and still tell me that it will require a CDL to get it home.

From my understanding and reading, once the title is changed to a RV I will be good to go I am concerned with driving it the 250 miles home. My fear is that I will be pulled over and told that the vehicle can not move again until I can get someone with CDL to come get it home.

Who is right in this situation. The multitude of DMV employees who tell me I should be good to drive it home or the SC CDL Office?

travelgravel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 11:48 AM   #2
Traveling

Year: 2003
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: TC2000
Engine: 5.9L Cummins
Rated Cap: '00
Welcome !

Quote:
Originally Posted by travelgravel View Post
I know I know... Another CDL question
As large as buses are, they are invisible to law enforcement wit one caveat: