Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-21-2017, 12:44 AM   #1

Arrow CA registration

Hello guys,

Newbie here. Am ready to pull a trigger on a International 24 seater (17,000 lbs) from PA, and bringing it to CA. The bus' engine sticker shows only 49 state compliant (no CA). I read many threads and searched, but I am still bit confused about the exemption part. And I don't want to assume. Can you guys help?

My understanding is that after it becomes MH category, no Smog is required, and it is exempted from ARB. (https://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/onrdie...TBFinalReg.pdf).

Does that mean once converted to MH, it is OK to buy the bus with non-CA compliant engine?

Thanks in advance,

cctl88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 10:27 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
There's a lot of buses sold in CA that I would assume are compliant. I'm not understanding why you'd go to PA to buy a bus. CA is about the toughest state for air pollution standards. They've sold millions of dollars worth of heavy equipment because it's not compliant with their air standards. I'm doubting PA standards would be compliant with CA standards.
Old 03-21-2017, 12:01 PM   #3

Yeah, I know its a long shot, but am hoping the exemption clause will work. The PA bus is a good deal, even with transportation. I did look in all CA (craigslist, ebay, calling schools) for the last month. Not much out there, and expensive too. Schools usually have third party Durham, or they trade in the old to the state for Grand money to buy new.

The one in PA is a 2007 IC 24 5 window with wheel chair access and AC. 85k miles. Price is about 7k -7.5k. Comparable setup in CA would be around above 12k+ with more miles.

Or if anyone can suggest where I can look for decent bus in CA, I'd glad to dig it up.

Robin, thanks for your input. Much appreciated!
Old 03-21-2017, 12:51 PM   #4
Bus Geek