Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-29-2019, 04:41 PM   #1

Chasing the snow in a 2002 Chevy G3500 short bus, Registering in California

Hello new skoolie friends. First post here. Apologies in advance for starting my own thread - unsure if it's kosher. This is my first auto purchase ever and although im an engineer by trade, my skills under the hood are not proficient enough yet to validate opening up the wallet. Hence I have come here for some help!

Im looking to spend the winter on the road chasing the snow storms out West.
Im 90% ready to buy an already converted skoolie registered in WA as MotorHome and attempt to register it in California. I already booked my one way ticket their this weekend, but need some more advice if the vehicle i plan to get will meet my wintery expectations, as well as its value.

2002 Chevy Express G3500 6.5L V8 OHV 16V Turbo Diesel Bus w/ rear lift. It was originally owned by a school district in Idaho for 13yrs and was converted to a 4x4 at that time. I believe it was a Quigley conversion, but not sure, asking for the records.

In 2018/2019 it was built out professionally, insulated, and wired by an electrician. The conversion can be found at this instagram page, just scroll to the bottom (oldest photos) to see. https://www.instagram.com/mattandpaiton/

It has 150k miles on it and recently has the front wheels replaced < 500 miles ago. Its currently in the shop getting the brake pads replaced and I have asked for the mechanic to give me a bill of health (however its the mechanic of the seller, so not sure if it will be unbiased).

There is a private bed space, a seating area, counter top, sink with fresh and gray water, as well as a wood burning stove, and ceiling vent, solar panels, and a roof deck. The most recent owner has done some interior decorating, a new external paint job, and claims the bus runs smoothly, and doesnt leak.