Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-22-2018, 03:08 AM   #1
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner MVP ER
Engine: Cummins 6CTA8.3 Mechanical MD3060
Rated Cap: 46 Coach Seats, 40 foot
Do I Need a Commercial Driver's License (CDL)?

I am writing this because ... because the question is asked every week, or every day if you read any of the FaceBook Groups, and the same mis-information is repeated day after day, week after week.

So here is the answer with the only caveat being that I am not a lawyer. It wouldn't really help much even if I were, as licensing rules vary by state.

The basic answer for most Skoolies, and privately owned buses is "No, you do not need a CDL".

Let's dispense with the first myth:

"A bus is a commercial vehicle".

The term "commercial vehicle" is not a classification of vehicle recognized by either the federal government or any state legislature. I know it is widely bandied about, here and elsewhere, but we ought to stop using it because it is a meaningless term.

A Commercial Driver's License is a license to drive commercially. It is not a license to drive a commercial vehicle. The entirety of the CDL Regs are predicated on the nature of the journey, and only if that journey is commercial in purpose do the regulations apply. If the journey is not commercial in purpose, scrub the CDL Regs, they do not apply.

Once the nature of the journey is established, then all vehicles are governed by weight and the trailer situation. A "Class B" CDL allows vehicles in excess of 26001 lbs to be driven. A "Class A" adds a trailer in excess of 10000 lbs (Semi).

ONly in this instance are buses treated differently. If you drive a bus you need a "P" (passenger) endorsement. If it's a school bus you need "P" and "S" (School Bus).

If you are driving ANY of the above vehicles for a purely private or domestic reason, none of that applies.