Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-03-2016, 05:51 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Girardin
Chassis: Ford E350
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke Diesel
Here's one for you: WI resident, stationed in CA (military), buying a Washington Bus

I'm a resident of Wisconsin. My driver's license is a WI one, my car is registered there with WI plates, yet I am stationed in California. This is a pretty good setup, as I also pay WI taxes and not Kalifornia taxes.

The bus I'm looking at buying is in Seattle, titled/registered as a School Bus.

I'm planning on flying up to Seattle, purchasing the bus, and driving it back down to a storage spot on base for the conversion. The bus is exactly 25 years old (1991 model, probably by the time I buy it it'll be 26).

I'm also planning on doing the Vermont RV registration per werewolff's wonderful instructions (http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f18/ho...ion-15292.html).

Now, if I buy it, I'll have the title and proof of sale. I'll then get the Vermont registration. Because of my situation (not a California resident), is there any reason to switch the registration over to California? Or maybe even Wisconsin? Or just leave it as a Vermont RV registration, and keep the Vermont plates? Or do anything with the title?

Any insight from people from any of those states?

Thanks all.

vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 07:02 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2005
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Detroit MBE906
Rated Cap: 72
First off, as a veteran myself, thank you for your service to our country.