Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-08-2021, 12:14 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2006
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Cat C7
Importing from US to Canada? CDL?

Hello friends,

I'm a newbie . Hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I'm in Ontario and the options here are bleak. I may have zeroed in on a IC bus ("short" - 7 window length) in Georgia . It seems to check all the right boxes given everything I've read in this forum and what I can observe from the pictures. I'm arranging for a PPI at this time.

To import a bus into Canada it seems it cannot be modified from its original state (www.riv.ca), so I am afraid that if I have it registered as an RV in the US via the Vermont route I may run into issues when importing.

To keep it registered as a bus according to Georgia I need a CDL for anything over 26,000 lbs. I have an Ontario G license; this is the common drivers license that would allow you to drive anything up to 11,000KG (24,000 lbs.).

The bus I'm targeting is in Georgia and has a GVWR of over 26,000 lbs. based on the VIN. I can tear out the seats, remove the School Bus decals, and even paint it if necessary so it is no longer a "School" bus.

If I try to register as RV, I might not be able to import it. If I don't register as RV, I may not be allowed to drive it whatsoever.

Am I missing something? Help?

cilantro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 11:25 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas
Engine: Cummins 5.9 Allison AT545
Rated Cap: 71
Hey Cilantro!

I know this post is 4 and a half months old by now, but I just found it, because I'm researching immigration into Canada right now. I bought my bus 3 years ago, and am well into conversion by now. Kind of on the home stretch actually. And of course I'd want to take my new home with me into Canada.

I see your link, thank you. Knowledge is power. I have some links of my own: