Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2021, 05:12 PM   #1

Insurers in Arizona

I'm not having any luck finding insurance in Arizona for my under construction skoolie. Im an older driver with a perfect record looking to get coverage as a bus until the conversion is complete and a new RV title can be issued. If you're an Arizona bus owner and have a source for insurance, please contact me.

magalahi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2021, 06:26 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: T/C 2000 28 foot Handy Bus
Engine: Cummins 5.9 Mechanical
Rated Cap: 2
Can you get a licensed vehicle appraiser to come and look at it and give you the required paperwork to retitle it as a motorhome. After, of course, you put an air mattress, a sink, a dry toilet and a Coleman stove. And throw some money at him. Then after it is registered as an RV you should be able to get liability insurance on it with a phone call and no inspection. Thats how we did it in CA.
Rivetboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2021, 08:11 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1974
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: "Atomic"
Engine: DD 8V71
Where in Arizona are you? We're up North, near Flagstaff, and I'm happy to chat about options we've found. Feel free to send me a message and I'll give you my cell number.

The short summary is, like RivetBoy said, registering it as an RV/MH is your best bet. We've used Progressive (for a "commercial vehicle for personal use") policy while the bus was still a bus, but that's more expensive than RV or motorhome insurance. We also used The Hartford for that in the past, but then they quit issuing those.

For a converted bus, we've used Progressive and National General and Farm Bureau at one time or the other. I understand that Allstate will also issue for those, but we're pretty happy with Farm Bureau for now so I haven't looked into Allstate myself.