Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-10-2021, 10:06 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

just bought at auction. need insurance to drive home.

Hi all-

I just purchased a school bus at auction and need to drive it across country from Oklahoma to California where I am a resident. For now I just need insurance to get it home and while doing conversion. Any suggestions? My provider, Farmers Insurance, can't figure it out...

wencington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 10:12 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Also can't seem to find any roadside assistance for the bus until it is titled as RV...

I called, AAA, Coach net, and Good Sam.
Old 09-10-2021, 10:28 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2004
Coachwork: International
Chassis: 3000
Engine: T444E, Allison 2000
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger, 29000lb
Get a commercial vehicle for private use insurance policy and cancel it the following month. They are pretty cheap. I personally went with Allstate. Do not bother calling the agencies over the phone. Go to a local agent and explain you want a commercial vehicle for private use policy.

You can get a 72 hour or 120 hour temporary registration at the Oklahoma website.

https://oklahoma.gov/occ/divisions/t...y-permits.html

Here is a company that will provide roadside for a commercial bus. I personally don't see the benefit in spending that much money just for a single trip. In the beginning I just used AAA and didn't tell them it was a bus I kept saying class A RV.

https://www.roadsidemasters.com/membership-program.php
mrlupr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 10:32 AM   #4
Bus Geek

Get the Vermont RV rego / title, mailorder only
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 06:29 PM   #5
Bus Crazy

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
Insurance