Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-31-2020, 09:14 PM   #1

Michigan short bus insurance/ title newbie

Hello all I’m new to the bus stuff but I’ve been looking at rvs for months now and I just can’t justify the money people ask for a 20+ year old chassis . I’ve now started to look into a short bus , I’m a mechanic for a municipality and we have 3500 Chevy duramax bus’s. That being said I am familiar with the chassis and drive train , upfitting for my needs should be a fun family project. My worries as I’ve recently started reading on this forum is that I may have titling issues and insurance issues . My thought is that the title and insurance should be that of a 3500 Van am I wrong in that and the title will say bus on it ? I’m looking to get a 3500 Chevy 04-08 duramax short school bus .again I’m new to this so if these are dumb questions I apologize

Codybrippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2020, 09:23 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1935
Coachwork: Superior
Chassis: Chevy
Engine: 317 ci/tid / Isuzu
From the get-go it is the up-fitter of the bus body that calls the bus designation so not a 3500 van. Some folks have had luck insuring these buses on a commercial policy until they are converted to a "motor home" or "house car" at which time insurance becomes less of a problem and cheaper. You'll hear lots more I'm sure!
Jack
ol trunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 08:57 AM   #3
Bus Geek

If needed for rego

https://www.skoolie.net/forums/f18/how-to-immediately-register-your-bus-as-an-rv-without-conversion-15292.html#post165864
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 08:58 AM   #4
Bus Geek

If you find insurance is difficult

https://www.skoolie.net/forums/f18/howto-find-insurance-for-your-state-28907.html#post352597
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 03:11 PM   #5
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000