Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-04-2020, 02:02 PM   #1

Register title in PA and insuring it to move to NC...help!

Hello all! I'm new to the skoolie community but have been obsessed with the idea of converting my own bus for years. I would really appreciate any advice. The legal aspect of getting insurance and properly titling the bus has me a bit overwhelmed.

The bus I'm hoping to buy is an '85 Chevy 5 speed gas engine. It already has the seats removed except the very first row behind the driver. I believe all the other school bus lights and stop sign have already been removed as well.

I found a great deal on the bus in PA where I am a resident, but I am planning to move to NC where I can park it and work on it while I live with family there.

I've read that to insure the bus as an RV it has to already be converted and have proper electric, plumbing, appliances, etc. Is there a way to get around this just to insure it long enough for me to drive it from PA to NC? Once I get it to NC I don't plan to drive it for some time except around the block on occasion to keep it running in good order. How do I present my case to insurance agents so they won't immediately deny me coverage?

How would I register/title this vehicle since it's not converted yet (it's basically just en empty bus shell? Should it be titled as just a commercial vehicle for private use and say it's just to move my furniture and stuff across states, since that's all it's good for at the moment?

Thanks in advance!

EMnM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 03:02 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Seriously reconsider buying a bus from that area, it will have massive rust issues to deal with.