Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-26-2023, 01:28 PM   #1

Registering short bus in NY

Greetings all,

After and complicated life the last few years, I am a new home owner (again) and have been looking into a vehicle for hauling. 4x8 sheets just don't fit in many vehicles, and I hate the idea of using a trailer.

I wanted to, still do, find a Kei truck, NY isn't friendly and it costs over a grand to set up an LLC to go through all the hoops to register one out of state.

The thought came to me to nab a short bus. Keep a couple seats in and I can haul the family with room to spare for equipment, mountain biking, camping.. but more importantly, plenty of room for materials and hauling general stuff.

Price is right, I'd be looking for one around 4-5k. I have questions about reliability, though I'm a former mechanic and surely can handle that.

Registration.. that I am not sure about. I'm just looking for a small jobber. I imagine NY being NY, I still have to jump through hoops and register it either as a commercial vehicle (not ideal) or as a house on wheels? Am I able to just register it as a van, since that essentially is what it is?

Wreckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2023, 02:56 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2005
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: FS65
Engine: Mercedes 6.4L
Rated Cap: just the 2 of us
Just my guess....

depends on the title, if the bus is one built on a van chassis...then if possible, I'd call it a van. Remember the days of the conversion vans? They were still vans but had plush seats
some had beds...but they were still vans.

In my view, a E350 is a van...regardless of alterations.
BarnYardCamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2023, 03:38 PM   #3