Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2017, 09:37 AM   #21
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 38
Thanks Twigg...

DesertMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 09:42 AM   #22
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 38
Regarding Reg Needs to Be In State of DL ???

When I changed my Ca plates to Oregon she wanted me to get an OR drivers license but I passed because it seemed at the time to be another unnecessary fee ... How about this then, buy my bus here in Az and drive it home, go to DMV and get that OR DL and then register the bus???
DesertMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 11:35 AM   #23
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SW New Hampshire
Posts: 1,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty View Post
Take the class at a local community college- you get to drive semi trucks, too ! You will learn all about air-brake basics and feel more comfortable in your abilities.

It's a hoot. You don't have to get CDL license, but don't tell instructor until end.
I just looked it up again, to be sure. In MD I can take a 1 week course for CDL-B for light trucks, straight trucks, school buses, coaches, etc for $2500. The CDL-A for heavy trucks and tractor-trailers is 3 weeks and $4000.

I'm sure it would be lots of fun, but that's quite the line item for my bus project budget.
dan-fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 12:15 PM   #24
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 228
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: AARE 3903
Engine: Cummins 8.3L 12v
Rated Cap: 78
What I did was just download the state CDL manual to study, used a bunch of free online practice tests and then took the CDL written test at the DMV ($20 as I recall). It wasn't strictly necessary and I probably won't bother to take the driving test to get my actual CDL, but I did find it useful for feeling more prepared and confident to drive my bus, understand the air brake system, etc.

Rob
miscrms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 12:23 PM   #25
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 228
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: AARE 3903
Engine: Cummins 8.3L 12v
Rated Cap: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertMax View Post
When I changed my Ca plates to Oregon she wanted me to get an OR drivers license but I passed because it seemed at the time to be another unnecessary fee ... How about this then, buy my bus here in Az and drive it home, go to DMV and get that OR DL and then register the bus???
If you drive it home on a CA drivers license it's the CA rules that will apply if you were to get pulled over. It would probably be good to at least know what they are. If you buy from a dealer in AZ they will likely take care of the AZ temp plate for you. Most states have defined time periods within which you are supposed to get your license vehicle registrations changed over once you move into a state. Lots of people bend these rules, but it can lead to hassles / fines if you get pulled over or when you try to register another vehicle or finally go to get your license. Again good to know what the rules are and have a plausible story ready.
miscrms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 10:31 AM   #26
Bus Crazy
 
Stu & Filo. T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vacaville, Ca
Posts: 1,632
Year: 1988
Coachwork: Crown / Pusher
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Quote:
Originally Posted by miscrms View Post
If you drive it home on a CA drivers license it's the CA rules that will apply if you were to get pulled over. It would probably be good to at least know what they are. If you buy from a dealer in AZ they will likely take care of the AZ temp plate for you. Most states have defined time periods within which you are supposed to get your license vehicle registrations changed over once you move into a state. Lots of people bend these rules, but it can lead to hassles / fines if you get pulled over or when you try to register another vehicle or finally go to get your license. Again good to know what the rules are and have a plausible story ready.
Ca rules are if it's under 40ft Class C ok if it's 40 or over Class B endorsement which is not a Class B license.
Stu & Filo. T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.