Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-14-2022, 06:27 AM   #1

Year: 2009
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: MBE900
I don't understand??

I'm new to Skoolies, Only had Gertrude for about a month so far and still in demo stage. But What I don't get is, I see references to "skoolie friendly" camp grounds. Why would any camp ground not like a skoolie? Most buses are smaller in external dimensions than some of those sticks and staples motor homes. My money is just as green as there's. Could some one tell me why?

jby5010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2022, 07:51 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1990
Chassis: Crown Supercoach
Engine: Detroit 6-71TA, 10 sp.
Rated Cap: 90 (40')
Reputation.

There's a sketchy, barely-running shorty "conversion" with several busted out windows that regularly breaks down in my alley on their way to the well-known meth house a block away. When they finally get it running again, they inevitably leave a pile of trash behind. That's the kind of skoolie that some people imagine and that RV parks want to avoid.

What really blows my mind is that RV parks seem to assume that anything with an RVIA tag on the side is owned by respectable upstanding citizens. Personally, I think we should stop being judged by the vehicle we drive and come up with a different system instead. Maybe individual, personality-based Yelp reviews? I would get a lot of 1-stars, but at least campgrounds would refuse me based on my horrible temperament and not blame my bus
Tejon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2022, 09:32 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
there are also campgrounds that only allow RVs 10 years old or less which excludes 99.5% of the skoolies out there...
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2022, 09:36 AM   #4
Bus Nut

Year: 2005